drivemoreawesome

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Monday, 4 July 2011

Everybody's working for the long weekend...

Posted on 08:21 by Unknown
I dunno, the last few "events" I've gone too lately have just been overkill. Most of the time I just want to relax, have a beer and hang out, but man it's just been outrageous crowds stressing me out for no good reason. I mean once in a while fine, but man I don't need to get barraged like every time I go outside...

I swear, after the fireworks it was such a mass exodus that I'm pretty sure it took people 4 or 5 hours just to get out of Niagara. I even saw some car full of chicks drive up and get stuck on a median separating the two directions of traffic (it was one of the most embarrassing/obvious failures at a driving maneuver ever (and in front of crowds to boot)). Then some random woman hater totally stopped them from escaping, ratted them out and called the cops on them. For real? If that were me I'd just be out of that heat so fast no matter what the damage was...

Anyway, rewind a few hours...The Falls were pretty busy during the day...



But once the darkness set in it just became ruthless. In what might have been a bad call, when the fireworks started we decided to ditch our sweet balcony spot only to make it just across the street before grinding to a complete halt. We could barely see the fireworks, but at least everyone could barely see the fireworks.



Once that was over then the relentless traffic started and never seemed to end. Everything was packed but we managed to get into a couple bars because we're so smooth like that.



One place we ended up in advertised having the "coldest beers in Niagara"? I'll admit, it just might have been because that sweet nectar practically turned to ice once it hit my lips.

Outside? Still just massive people traffic.



Booking a hotel was a pretty good call because it would have been impossible to catch a taxi, let alone drive out of that area. The genius cops ended up closing the roads anyway since people were just flagrantly disobeying the laws and doing whatever they pleased aka rampaging all over the place. Poor saps who got that prime parking during the day got trapped/screwed big time because everyone was all up in their cars flooding out and they could not get out of the closed streets. Suckers.

The next day before heading out to the races we managed to get some fuel for the road in this restaurant shaped like a flying saucer - $1.99 early bird special if you could make it in that early...



More on that once I sort though the photos. Anyway, today is Monday and we're back to work. Time flies...




And talk about suck. I can't believe how hard it was to transfer files from my BB to anything. WTF RIM WHAT A BAD CAMERA.
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to FacebookShare to Pinterest
Posted in | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • YouTube says: The upload failed due to an unknown error.
    Fail sauce. What up with that?! Here's some sort of temporary fix which seems to work. UPDATE: This video contains content from UMG, w...
  • Looks like I've officially become a fanboy...
    Seriously kind of unexpected, but welcome (...I guess). Somehow I'm led to believe that constantly having access to the internet will ma...
  • And the beat goes on...
    Since Facebook is the most illegitimate/dumbest way to share any real photo, I back mine up to the flickr cloud because it seems like a sma...
  • GoPro Firmware Update = WIN
    Finally. I can't believe how long this shit took to come out. It basically said that they were 99% complete for like a year then 99.99%...
  • Biking with Tokyo Police Club
    After that last fiasco , I had to somehow redeem myself (since I never roll up in the club like 6 chicks deep (unfortunately)) and what bett...
  • Dragon boat paddling leg position blues...
    Since Swordfish is officially done with their season (and we even had our end of season party already) I ended up extending my own by subbin...
  • Going whitewater rafting and the GoPro is coming with me
    You can't blame Canada for having it's birthday on a Thursday, but you can blame your work for not giving us the Friday off (in a pe...
  • So I'm thinking of going on a vacation...
    Time to get my act together...
  • I wish I could party as hard as this girl...
    On a sort of related note to yesterday's post , if you ever thought you partied hard you're probably wrong....very wrong. If you hav...
  • US in Japan: Day 9 - Kyo...totally awesome!
    2 hours and 21 minutes and 500+ km later we made it to Kyoto. What was supposed to be a relaxing day turned into the most walking ever. My b...

Categories

  • 2 years and 599 posts later (1)
  • Apex Accelerator Paddle Burlington Waterfront Festival Sound of Music (1)
  • Banana Boat Dragonboat Welland Regatta Festival (1)
  • BUCKLE UP BITCHES BECAUSE THE LONG WEEKEND STARTS RIGHT NOW (1)
  • BURTON BURTON BURTON (1)
  • ceska zbrojovka is hard to say (1)
  • Cheesy cruise ship songs make you happy (1)
  • Fairy dances (1)
  • I love rednecks (1)
  • I use Instagram because film for my Holga is too expensive (1)
  • Is it Friday yet? (1)
  • Is it ski season yet? (1)
  • jello legs (1)
  • Joe Rogan teaches life lessons. (1)
  • Just gonna stand there and watch me burn (1)
  • Lively Dragon decided to give us the shaft.. (1)
  • MPEG Streamclip audio sync problem solved (1)
  • my dad uses a blackberry he's a senior (1)
  • niagara falls ontario marine land is the place to go (1)
  • Now you wanna run around and talk about guns like I ain't got none what you think I sold 'em all (1)
  • Paper cuts spread aids (1)
  • PSN backspacr (1)
  • PSN: backspacr (1)
  • She just turned 18 FTW (1)
  • So I finally got a Ruger 10/22 (1)
  • So I've been playing a lot of Battlefield 3 (1)
  • Table for one (1)
  • The Burger's Priest will exorcise frozen from your vocabulary (1)
  • The Burger's Priest will exorcise frozen from your vocabulary. (1)
  • Victory tastes like smoked meat (1)
  • Weekend warrior status confirmed (1)
  • What in the world? Blogger has default lightboxes now for pictures? (1)
  • When we drink we do it right gettin' slizzard (1)
  • You will never afford me (1)

Blog Archive

  • ▼  2011 (249)
    • ►  December (18)
    • ►  November (14)
    • ►  October (19)
    • ►  September (18)
    • ►  August (19)
    • ▼  July (15)
      • Life, Love and Burritos.
      • Fiio E5 + PS3 = I can use my ATH-M50
      • Montreal Dragon Boat Race Videos 2011 Edition
      • Got that Montreal dragon boat swag.
      • This is what dragon boat excellence looks like...NOT
      • MONTREAL BOUND AND DOWN
      • Feelin' hot hot hot...
      • Just call me Mr. Inconsistency
      • Think of me in the depths of your despair...
      • The world is full of haters because 2nd place is j...
      • Got cake?
      • Nitro Nationals Drag Racing Pictures @ Toronto Mot...
      • Gentlemen, we can rebuild him. We have the technol...
      • Everybody's working for the long weekend...
      • Happy Canada Day all you good looking people!
    • ►  June (24)
    • ►  May (25)
    • ►  April (19)
    • ►  March (31)
    • ►  February (21)
    • ►  January (26)
  • ►  2010 (251)
    • ►  December (29)
    • ►  November (23)
    • ►  October (28)
    • ►  September (25)
    • ►  August (25)
    • ►  July (26)
    • ►  June (23)
    • ►  May (24)
    • ►  April (22)
    • ►  March (26)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile