In any sort of casual setting, I really don't change the way I talk to anyone. The way I talk to my kid sister is the same way I talk to my parents, which is the same way I would talk to any of my friends. I like to keep it real and my parents are street like that so they know what I'm talking about. They did have like 27 years to pick it up...
At work though, it's like the sarcasm meter has rusted over for 99% of the people here. Since there are exactly 0 people my age, any sort of joking around seems lost upon them. They assume everything I say (even jokingly) is what I mean, and are probably confused as to why every MS Office Communicator message I send to my co-workers ends with 'lol'. It's a habit... I might be a hypocrite though because I absolutely hate it when anyone uses emoticons with me. They're stupid.
I don't even know why that dumb menu is there. What's it doing in a corporate/business messaging system? I don't know.

Anyway, old habits die hard. Real hard. Let's just say that the lunch time conversations in the cafeteria can get real awkward...
0 comments:
Post a Comment